Llafur was formed in 1970 to promote and popularise the knowledge and study of all aspects of people’s history in Wales.

People’s history is concerned with the history of ordinary people: their work, their politics, their culture and their everyday lives. It is concerned with the experiences and institutions of the working class, and the role of ordinary people in making history. It is the property of everyone, and Llafur, the Welsh People’s History Society, exists to promote the study of the people’s history of Wales.

Membership is open to everyone with an interest in Welsh people’s history. Members include professional and amateur historians, trade unionists, co-operators, students, museum, library and archive staff, workers in the public and private sectors, members of all political parties and none.

The society organises day schools at which topical themes are studied and discussed: from the 1984-5 miners’ strike, the Great War, to the history of the co-operative movement, and holiday resorts.

Llafur Committee Members

Deirdre Beddoe

Vice President

Hywel Francis

Vice President

Deian Hopkin

Vice President

Angela V. John

Vice President

Merfyn Jones

Vice President

Kenneth O. Morgan

Vice President

Dai Smith

Vice President

Ian Rees


Neil Evans


Siân Williams


Ben Curtis


Matthew Rees

Membership Secretary

Steve Thompson


Martin Wright


Siân Rhiannon Williams

Welsh-Medium Editor

Committee Members

Alun Burge

Andrew Edwards

Aled Eirug

Mari Lowe

Darren Macey

Mary MacGregor

Paul O'Leary

Jon Parry

James Phillips

David Selway

Robert Smith

Colin Thomas